Visit Prostatitis.org    
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Nov 24, 2020 9:05 am

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Quercetin abruptly stopped working! Help!: Attention:Madcap 

Post Quercetin abruptly stopped working! Help!: Attention:Madcap
Hi:

I've been using Quercetin since Fall 2018. It worked beautifully on all my urinary symptoms. Mainly urinary difficulty, poor stream, and urinary urgency. Later on, it even seemed to resolve the nocturia. It began working rapidly within a few days of my starting.

I was taking only half the recommended daily dose of 1,000 mg. At first I added Bromelain as per the study. Then later I found it worked just as well without the Bromelain. So was on only 500mg Quercetin daily, taken with food. I did discontinue the Quercetin for a few days about year and a half ago. Urinary stream got weaker-though manageable- after a few days of non-use. So I went back on it. Symptoms again resolved within a few days. So it's likely the original improvement was due-at least in large part- to the Quercetin.

A week ago, while still on my 500mg/day regimen, the symptoms returned. I was very devastated!! I had thought my ordeal with this had finally come to a close. And now its back!
==================

I went through some of my notes on this and found the following in a post by Madcap:

Quote:
"I’ve taken it in combination with Bromelain off and on for several years. However I do not stay on it continuously. Quercetin acts as an anti inflammatory but if used for too long a period of time can have the opposite effect. My suggestion is take a break from it after 4-6 weeks. Maybe take a 2 week break and start back. The other option is stay on it as long as you feel it’s having a positive effect and take a break if you notice a change."

-Madcap-- Prostatitis Forum: Dec 4 , 2018