Visit Prostatitis.org    
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2019 5:27 pm

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Is this really prostatitis? 

Post Is this really prostatitis?
Newbie here looking for some advice.

44 year old male, my troubles started at the start of December when I had a venison stew. The following days I had excessive bloating, flatulence and the other, before things settled down. Then a week before Christmas I started to get little pains in my bladder area, just above my pubic area. This continued well into the new year, the more I ate the more noticeable it was, and vice versa. Then a couple of weeks ago I was doing some garden clearing, lots of bending over and lifting involved. That night my stomach swelled up and I was incredibly bloated again. My abdomen was painful all over to the touch. I only had temporary relief when passing stools. I saw my doc who did an abdominal exam and urine sample (which was clear) and diagnosed me as having prostatitis. I was given Cipro for 5 days but couldn’t handle the side effects and stopped after the third day which was last Sunday. However, things had improved a lot in that time so asked to be given a different antibiotic to fully clear things up. Since Saturday I have been on Trimethoprim but in the time between antibiotics I’ve developed a few other symptoms – urinating more, random shooting pains down my urethra and discomfort in the prostate/pelvic area, along with the bladder pain. Not disabling but worrying. I do not have burning or any discharge and sexually all is fine.

I pee more when I’m bloated, so sometimes it feels like my guts are pressing on my bladder, or vice-versa. I thought I had diverticulitis at first as I have diverticulosis. Also have gastritis and hiatal hernia and have been bloated for the more than five years – but never painfully so in my current situation.